An Unexpected Key to the Treasure of My Heart

I was reminded today of the importance of the little things in life, and the memories of special times shared with our children as they are growing. And if, like me, you find that one day they are suddenly young men and women who have already gone out into the world or they are fast approaching that exciting time in their lives; like my youngest son who is now nearing the time for University, those memories become all the more precious. We hold them in the treasure box of our minds and like Grandma’s jewelry or a special scarf we put them away, and sometimes even lock them away until we rediscover the key and unlock them again. That was my experience today. The lovely Christine Kane tweeted out that today was, ‘National Book Lover’s Day’ and asked what everyone’s favourite book was, and that was my treasure box key. The key that unlocked special memories of a book that I shared over and over again with my daughters throughout their childhood. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, a beautiful classic that I simply adore and it remains one of my all time favourites and that of my daughters. We even loved seeing it come to life in the film from the book with the wonderful June Allyson. Christine’s tweet brought back wonderful and endearing memories unlocking the treasures of everyday family moments that are often more important than we realise; a true gift that went straight to my heart. Thank you Christine.

To find out more about Louisa May Allcott, and her life growing up at Orchard House you can go to her website louisamayalcott.org

Until Next Time

Elaine

© all rights reserved

Please Leave a Reply I Love Receiving Your Kind Comments

