Let’s Think About Self-Talk

How often do you sit down and really think about your thoughts? No, I mean REALLY think about them…What are they telling you?

I found myself doing just that the other day, not intentionally, I might add, but just found myself drifting and then suddenly realised that I was engaging in some negative self-talk. I also realised it was quite robotic, a response to an everyday happening, one of those everyday somethings that just  doesn’t go right, and I noticed that I was talking to myself and calling myself names and all because I dropped the jar of coffee, which of course smashed all over the kitchen floor. I can still see myself now, rolling my eyes and muttering to myself about how…well I’m sure that you can picture the scenario. It was an accident, a nothing going to rock this world type of accident, but I allowed it to rock me. Basically, I was annoyed with myself and I voiced my annoyance in a negative spat with myself. Instead of just accepting it as an accidental occurrence and cleaning it up and moving on, I played out this whole negative ritual against myself. Maybe because I was fed up because I didn’t have another jar of my favourite coffee in the cupboard, so I couldn’t have the drink I really wanted, or maybe it was because I had to clean up the mess when I’d planned to do something else, and by the time I’d finished I thought that I wouldn’t have enough time to finish my task after all, or maybe, just maybe I thought, “What a waste of money, a whole jar of coffee down the drain.” I was sure that my annoyance and anger towards myself was a combination of all three, and wow, what a major attack on my own self-esteem and confidence; and without my even thinking, or blinking about it or considering the consequences of the effects of such a barrage of negative affirmations. I was glad that I noticed the negativity I was projecting onto myself and quickly turned it all around. Then I remembered a video I’d seen, by Che Garman, who shares positive affirmations by the bucket full. “Nafffirmations,” cleverly highlights the destructive relationship we have with negative self-talk, giving us lots to think about and offers a door of opportunity to rethink our responses and think about how we treat OURSELVES.

You can also view the video here at, http://affirmyourlife.blogspot.com/2011/08/naffirmations.html

Until Next time, Take Care

Laney

Please Leave a Reply I Love Receiving Your Kind Comments

